U.S. Committee of the Blue Shield

©2018 USCBS. All rights reserved.

U.S. Committee of the Blue Shield is a 501(c)(3) corporation.

International Affiliates





USCBS is a member of Blue Shield (International), which was formed by
a merger of ANCBS and ICBS. On April 6, 2016 the amended statutes for the new organization were signed.

International Committee of the Blue Shield (ICBS)

The purpose of the International Committee of the Blue Shield (ICBS) was to promote the protection of cultural property (as defined in Article 1 of the 1954 Hague Convention) against threats of all kinds and to intervene strategically with decision makers and relevant international organizations to prevent and to respond to natural and man made disasters.

ICBS was established in 1996 by the four non-governmental organizations representing professionals active in the fields of archives, libraries, monuments and sites, and museums: ICA (International Council on Archives), ICOM (International Council of Museums, ICOMOS (International Council on Monuments and Sites), and IFLA (International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions). A fifth organization, CCAAA (Co-ordinating Council of Audiovisual Archives Association) joined ICBS at a later date. On April 16, 2016, ICBS and ANCBS merged to form Blue Shield (International).

The Second Protocol to the 1954 Hague Convention, agreed upon in April 1999, gave new impetus to the role of ICBS and that of its associated organizations since Articles 11.3 and 27.3 recognize ICBS as an advisory international organization to the inter-governmental Committee for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict.


International Council on Archives (ICA)

ICA is dedicated to the effective management of records and the preservation, care and use of the world's archival heritage through its representation of records and archive professionals across the globe.

International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA)

IFLA is the leading international body representing the interests of library and information services and their users. It is the global voice of the library and information profession.

International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS)

ICOMOS is a non-governmental international organization dedicated to the conservation of the world's monuments and sites.

International Council of Museums (ICOM)

ICOM works for society and its development. It is committed to ensuring the conservation, and protection of cultural goods.

Coordinating Council of Audiovisual Archives Association (CCAAA)

A fifth organization, CCAAA, joined ICBS in 2005, which provides a shared platform for nine membership-based organizations wishing to co-operate on influencing the development of public policy on issues of importance to professional audiovisual archivists.


Association of National Committees of the Blue Shield (ANCBS)

The Association of National Committees of the Blue Shield was founded in 2008, for the purpose of coordinating and strengthening international efforts to protect cultural property at risk of destruction during armed conflicts or natural disasters.

ANCBS served as the communication center, archive and resource base for ICBS and Blue Shield national committees. It facilitates communication between all levels of the Blue Shield Network in a systematic way. On April 16, 2016, ANCBS and ICBS merged to form Blue Shield (International).

The representatives from ICBS and National Blue Shield committees met in The Hague on September 27th and 28th, 2006 to discuss and agree on the most effective way to support the new International Committee for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict – a twelve-member intergovernmental committee to oversee the implementation of the Hague Convention and the Second Protocol. At this meeting, the parties created and signed the 2006 Hague Blue Shield Accord agreeing to the creation of a new body, the Association of National Committees of the Blue Shield.

National Committees of the Blue Shield

National Committees are important to the success of the Blue Shield mission. Within each of their countries they bring together the different cultural property professions, local and national governments, emergency services, and the armed forces. They provide a focus for raising national awareness of the threats to cultural heritage and serve as a forum for improving emergency preparedness by sharing experiences and information. Finally, they promote the ratification and implementation of the 1954 Hague Convention by national governments.COMMITTEES UNDER CONSTRUCTIONAfghanistanArgentinaAzerbaijanBoliviaBrazilCanadaColombiaCubaCuracaoEgyptGermanyHaitiHungaryIndiaIndonesiaMexicoPalestinePeruRussian FederationSloveniaSouth KoreaSwitzerlandVenezuela








Czech Republic















United Kingdom

United States



How to form a new Blue Shield National Committee

Downloads here:

Manual for creating a National Committee of the Blue Shield

Forms for creating a National Blue Shield Committee