U.S. Committee of the Blue Shield

©2018 USCBS. All rights reserved.

U.S. Committee of the Blue Shield is a 501(c)(3) corporation.

Founding Officers and Directors of USCBS



Founding President

Corine Wegener, Founding President of USCBS, is a retired major with 21 years of service in the U.S. Army Reserve, the last 13 years of which were as a Civil Affairs Officer. Her last assignment was in Baghdad, Iraq as the Arts, Monuments, and Archives Officer for the 352nd Civil Affairs Command from May 2003 to March 2004. Her primary responsibility was to assist the Iraq National Museum in the aftermath of the devastating looting that took place after the U.S. invasion. She also assisted in the recovery and stabilization of the Iraqi Jewish Archive collection. Wegener is a coauthor of the U.S. Army publication GTA 410-1002 Civil Affairs Arts, Monuments, and Archives, a guide for soldiers on the protection of cultural property in a wartime environment. At the time of the founding of USCBS Cori Wegener was assistant curator in the department of Architecture, Design, Decorative Arts Craft, and Sculpture at The Minneapolis Institute of Arts.

Wegener served as President of USCBS from its founding in 2006 until April 2011. Since then, Cori has held the position of Cultural Heritage Preservation Officer in the Office of the Under Secretary for History, Art, and Culture at the Smithsonian Institution where she coordinates the Smithsonian’s role in external emergency response for cultural heritage during armed conflicts and natural disasters.

Other Founding Officers and Directors*

John Malcolm Russell, Vice President – Professor in Critical Studies and Art History, Massachusetts College of Art. He was a member of the UNESCO cultural mission to Iraq in May 2003 and until June 2004 served as Deputy Senior Advisor to the Ministry of Culture for the Coalition Provisional Authority in Iraq.

Nancy C. Wilkie, Secretary – William H. Laird Professor of Classics, Anthropology and the Liberal Arts, and co-director of the Archaeology Concentration, Carleton College, Northfield, MN. She served as President of the Archaeological Institute of America from 1988 to 2002, and is a member of the Cultural Property Advisory Committee of the U.S. Department of State.

Perry McGowan, Treasurer – Certified Public Accountant, Larson, Allen, Weishair & Co., LLP. He is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the American Bar Association.

Patty Gerstenblith, Director – Professor of Law, DePaul University College of Law. She served as Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Cultural Property from 1995-2002 and was a pubic representative on the Cultural Property Advisory Committee from 2000 to 2003.

Paul Wegener, Director – Wegener retired in 2004 as a major with 22 years of service in the U.S. Army Reserve where he served for 13 years as a Civil Affairs officer. He has extensive experience in civil-military operations and civil/military relations.

*Positions and bios at the time of the founding of USCBS in 2006

Current Board Members »